Study abroad in Mendoza then then a m... Contact us | Log In | Log Out | Argentina Forums
Travelsur Home | Admin | Register | Edit Profile | Search

Argentina Travel Advice » Destinations in Argentina » Study abroad in Mendoza then then a month in BA? « Previous Next »
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kevin Cheong
Username: Repeatx3

Post Number: 1
Posted on Thursday, March 27, 2008 - 2:05 am:   Edit PostPrint Post

Hola Roberto!

My name is Kevin and I have stumbled across this forum and was very fortunate and glad I did. I will be studying abroad in Mendoza over the summer from the middle of May to the end of June so that is about 6 weeks. After that, I wanted to stay another month in Argentina and just explore the country (round trip tickets from Hawaii costs about $2000 to Argentina so I definitely want to see and learn all that I can about the country!)

I have no Spanish background at all, very little background in Italian. Through the study abroad program in Mendoza, I will be taking intensive Spanish language courses and be living with a host family. I'm hoping that because of the immersion in Argentinian culture that I can grasp very basic Spanish relatively quickly.

After spending 6 weeks with my host family, I was thinking about going to BA for a month and basically exploring from there. I am very friendly and I love meeting new people and getting to know them! I saw your recommendations to rent an apartment and I don't know if it is better for me to jump around from hostel to hostel or just base everything off a central location.

If at all possible, I would definitely like to check out Machu Picchu in Peru. Any comments and suggestions are appreciated! Thank you!

Roberto
Board Administrator
Username: Admin

Post Number: 1605
Posted on Friday, March 28, 2008 - 12:31 am:   Edit PostPrint Post