Freelance writing work for English sp... Contact us | Log In | Log Out | Argentina Forums
Travelsur Home | Admin | Register | Edit Profile | Search

Argentina Travel Advice » Living in Argentina » Freelance writing work for English speaker in BA? « Previous Next »
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Corinne Reynolds
Username: Cormalee

Post Number: 1
Posted on Thursday, November 13, 2008 - 11:51 am:   Edit PostPrint Post

I am hoping to get advice/information about freelance writing opportunities for English speakers in Buenos Aires.

I am a U.S. citizen considering a short-term move to Buenos Aires (for 6 months to a year), beginning in Feb or March 2009. Here in the U.S. I make my living as a grant writer for a nonprofit organization, and I was previously a journalist. I would be coming to BA with some savings, but would be hoping to earn some money (perhaps $500 U.S. per month) while there.

I am wondering if there are many freelance writing opportunities for English-language publications in Buenos Aires? Are any of you doing this type of work? If so, how easy is it to find work, and what do you earn?

There's also the issue of a visa. I would most likely be coming over as a tourist, however, if I did do freelance writing work, would that mean I would need to apply for a work visa?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Corinne

Bill Howard
Username: Veritas01

Post Number: 56
Posted on Thursday, November 13, 2008 - 12:24 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post