Advice/Help American interested in Me... Contact us | Log In | Log Out | Argentina Forums
Travelsur Home | Admin | Register | Edit Profile | Search

Argentina Travel Advice » Living in Argentina » Advice/Help American interested in Medicine at UBA « Previous Next »
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Joshua Gutierrez
Username: Musicatthebuzzer

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, December 29, 2006 - 9:41 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post

My name is Joshua and I am from Philadelphia. I just graduated from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh May 2006. I have just been offered a spot to study medicine at the Facultad de Medicina de la Universidad de Buenos Aires; this is actually fairly difficult to obtain being international as only 20 spots were available this year for non Argentinians. I could definitely get into an American school and I have even looked at a school in Guadalajara, México (where I studied abroad for 3 semesters) and a couple schools in Spain. However, I feel like studying in Argentina would be a great oportunity to be exposed to south american culture. Also, the university does not charge any tuition besides an inscription fee. The problem for me now is that I do not have a large amount of savings (4-5,000 USD) and I still have to purchase a ticket to get down to Buenos Aires (I think about 1,000 USD), rent a furnished apartment, and pay for food.

This means the only way that I can pull this off is if I find some sort of employment in Buenos Aires or loans. Federal loans are out of the question as the US Department of Education does not "recognize" la UBA and therefore I would not be eligible for federal funding. I am just starting to look into private loans and scholarships. It would have to be a loan with a very low monthly payment or that I would not have to begin payments on until completion of medical school (which would take about 6 years at UBA).