What is the essence of Tango dancing? Contact us | Log In | Log Out | Argentina Forums
Travelsur Home | Admin | Register | Edit Profile | Search

Argentina Travel Advice » Argentine Culture » What is the essence of Tango dancing? « Previous Next »
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Iverson
Unregistered guest
Posted on Monday, March 14, 2005 - 12:02 am:   Edit PostPrint Post

What are the 2 main aspects of the dance tango?

Roberto
Unregistered guest
Posted on Monday, March 14, 2005 - 12:05 am:   Edit PostPrint Post

I am not a tango expert but I think it will be very difficult to pinpoint just two main characteristics of the dance.

I remember when I was trying to learn how to dance salsa, my instructor -who was an expert tango dancer and teacher- told me that a true characteristic of the tango was that it was felt from the waste up, opposite to latin/caribbean dance where dancers use the lower part of their bodies to express whatever the music is telling them. In tango, partners keep a distance even though they grab each other.

It is probably the case that men lead in most dances, but this is even truer in tango. Tango is ONLY about stereotypes. It is not about the pleasure of moving your body rythmically. These stereotypes are defined through role playing, having the male dancer leading the female dancer, at all times. Many europeans have complained about this aspect of the dance when they are explained how to proceed. In tango, it is the man who makes little, unnoticeable movements for the woman to respond. There is a constant, unspoken dialogue. You cannot dance the real tango if you do not understand this interpersonal exchange, an exchange between clearly defined sex roles. This exchange is usually deeply emotional and charged with passion, feelings of revenge, jealousy and melancholy.

There may be someone out there that might be able to give you a more precise answer, for sure...